Skip to main content

This test is also available in the following languages:

D&D Class Test

In the popular world of D&D, adventurers come in many shapes and forms, each embodying different archetypes and roles. This test will help you discover which class best suits your personality, strengths, and preferences as an adventurer. Whether you're a fierce warrior, a cunning rogue, a wise spellcaster, or something in between, there's a class that's perfect for you.

To take the test, indicate your answer to each of the following statements below.

Question 1 of 60

I often rely on my instincts, trusting my gut reactions in the heat of the moment.



The IDRlabs D&D Classes Test was created by IDRlabs. This test is not affiliated with D&D or any of its copyright or trademark holders. No infringement is intended by the present test.

In Dungeons & Dragons (D&D), the character classes represent different archetypes or roles that adventurers can embody in their quests. Each class comes with its own unique abilities, skills, and flavor, allowing players to create diverse characters with varying strengths and weaknesses. Here's an overview of the 12 core classes in D&D:


The barbarian is a primal warrior who relies on brute strength and raw power in combat. They excel in close-quarters combat, wielding heavy weapons with devastating force. Barbarians possess the ability to rage, entering a frenzied state that enhances their combat prowess and resilience. They are often portrayed as fierce warriors from tribal societies, drawing inspiration from real-world historical figures like Vikings or Celtic berserkers.


Bards are charismatic performers and storytellers, wielding the power of music, magic, and persuasion to influence the world around them. They excel in social situations, using their charm and wit to manipulate emotions and sway opinions. Bards possess a wide range of abilities, including spellcasting, musical proficiency, and versatile skills that make them valuable members of any adventuring party. They are often depicted as wandering minstrels or traveling troubadours, spreading tales of heroism and adventure wherever they go.


Clerics are devout servants of deities or higher powers, channeling divine magic to heal the wounded, banish evil, and protect the innocent. They serve as spiritual leaders and healers, guiding their companions with wisdom and faith. Clerics have access to a wide range of spells and abilities, depending on their chosen domain or deity. They are often depicted as priests, holy warriors, or emissaries of divine justice, embodying the ideals of their faith in their actions and deeds.


Druids are guardians of the natural world, attuned to the primal forces of nature and the cycle of life and death. They draw power from the earth itself, wielding magic to shapeshift, commune with animals, and manipulate the elements. Druids are often depicted as reclusive wanderers or protectors of ancient groves, seeking to maintain the balance between civilization and the wilderness. They are advocates for environmental conservation and defenders of endangered ecosystems, using their powers to heal the land and drive back encroaching threats.


Fighters are masters of martial combat, trained in a variety of weapons and fighting styles. They excel in physical combat, relying on strength, skill, and tactical prowess to overcome their foes. Fighters come in many forms, from armored knights wielding swords and shields to nimble duelists armed with bows or daggers. They are often depicted as seasoned warriors, mercenaries, or knights errant, honing their skills through years of training and battlefield experience.


Monks are disciplined warriors of mind, body, and spirit, trained in ancient martial arts and mystical techniques. They harness the power of ki, an inner energy that flows through all living beings, to perform extraordinary feats of agility, speed, and resilience. Monks are masters of unarmed combat, using their fists and feet as deadly weapons. They are often depicted as ascetic monks or wandering martial artists, seeking enlightenment through physical and spiritual discipline.


Paladins are holy warriors, sworn to uphold the ideals of justice, honor, and righteousness. They draw power from their oath to serve a higher cause, whether it be a deity, a code of ethics, or a sacred vow. Paladins wield divine magic to smite evil, protect the innocent, and heal the wounded. They are often depicted as noble knights, holy crusaders, or champions of the oppressed, embodying the virtues of courage, compassion, and self-sacrifice.


Rangers are skilled trackers, hunters, and protectors of the wilderness, attuned to the rhythms of nature and the creatures that inhabit it. They are masters of survival, capable of navigating through rugged terrain and tracking their prey with precision. Rangers excel in archery, wielding bows and arrows with deadly accuracy. They are often depicted as lone wanderers or guardians of the wild, patrolling the borders of civilization and defending it from monstrous threats.


Rogues are stealthy infiltrators, thieves, and assassins, skilled in the arts of subterfuge, deception, and larceny. They excel in agility and dexterity, using their cunning and wit to outmaneuver their enemies and evade detection. Rogues are experts in stealth, lock-picking, and trap-disarming, making them invaluable members of any adventuring party. They are often depicted as rogues, scoundrels, or cunning spies, operating in the shadows and exploiting the weaknesses of their adversaries.


Sorcerers are wielders of innate magic, born with a natural talent for spellcasting that sets them apart from other mortals. They draw power from their bloodline or heritage, channeling raw arcane energy to shape reality with their thoughts and emotions. Sorcerers possess a limited repertoire of spells compared to wizards, but their magic is more intuitive and spontaneous. They are often depicted as sorcerers, prodigies, or outcasts, struggling to control their volatile powers while navigating a world that fears and mistrusts them.


Warlocks are seekers of forbidden knowledge and dark power, forging pacts with otherworldly entities in exchange for arcane abilities. They draw power from their patron—a powerful being such as a fiend, fey, or celestial—who grants them access to eldritch magic beyond mortal comprehension. Warlocks are often depicted as schemers, cultists, or seekers of forbidden lore, bargaining with otherworldly entities to gain power and influence.


Wizards are scholars of arcane mysteries, dedicated to unlocking the secrets of magic through study, research, and experimentation. They wield a vast array of spells and magical abilities, drawing upon ancient tomes, scrolls, and rituals to manipulate the forces of reality. Wizards specialize in one or more schools of magic, such as evocation, illusion, or necromancy, allowing them to wield their chosen discipline with unparalleled mastery. They are often depicted as wizards, sages, or scholars, delving into the depths of arcane lore in search of power and enlightenment.

Free online quizzes such as the present test do not provide professional assessments or recommendations of any kind; the test is provided entirely “as-is.” For more information about any of our online tests and quizzes, please consult our Terms of Service.

D&D Class Test

Why Use This Test?

1. Free. This test is provided to you free of charge and allows you to obtain your scores related to D&D classes.

2. Statistical controls. Test scores are logged into an anonymized database. Statistical analysis of the test is conducted to ensure maximum accuracy and validity of the test scores.

3. Made by professionals. The present test has been made with the input of people who work professionally in psychology and individual differences research.