Skip to main content

This test is also available in the following languages:

Love Languages Test

The love languages framework is a popular tool for exploring how a person expresses love and likes to be treated in their relationships. This test will measure yours.

What are your love languages like? For each of the following statements, indicate how well it applies to you below.

Question 1 of 35

I feel appreciated when my partner takes the time to discuss important decisions in depth with me.




The IDRlabs Love Languages Test (IDR-LLT) was developed by IDRlabs. The IDR-LLT is based on the work of Dr. Gary Chapman, Ph.D., who authored the book, “The 5 Love Languages” as well as the tool, The Five Love Languages Test. The IDR-LLT is not associated with any specific researchers in the field of personality psychology, counseling psychology, or any affiliated research institutions.

The test provides feedback such as the following: Words: People whose love language is “words of affirmation” communicate love through kind words and encouragement. Their love language involves spoken words, praises, or compliments. They themselves also feel loved when others talk to them in a positive and encouraging way or send them positive messages, love notes, or inspiring quotes.

Focus: People whose love language is “quality time” communicate love through giving another their undivided attention. Such focus may involve uninterrupted and deeply-attentive conversations in one-on-one settings – creating special moments together, turning off phones, and shutting out other distractions. They themselves also feel loved when they are prioritized, and they deepen their connections by spending such special times with others.

Gifts: People whose love language is “giving and receiving gifts” cherish the effort and creativity put into the presents which are being given to and by them. They see gifts as important symbols of love and affection. It is important to note that people with this love language do not normally expect expensive or large gifts since what they value is the sentiment and the meaning behind the object. They feel loved when others take the time to look for the “perfect” gift for them, and they express love by finding the perfect gifts for others.

Acts: People whose love language is “acts of service” enjoy when others do everyday, helpful things for them. They feel loved when others take the time to do small favors for them, such as when others make their tea or coffee exactly the way they like it or when their partner volunteers to help them with tasks that are difficult or draining for them. This love language is the origin of the familiar adage that “actions speak louder than words.”

Touch: People whose love language is “physical touch” cherish being hugged, touched, and physically close to the people they are comfortable with. Their love language is one of physical affection. For instance, an ideal date may include holding hands, cuddling, and sitting close with each other – simply enjoying the exchange of intimacy and familiarity.

The IDRlabs Love Languages Test was informed by the Love Languages Test criteria for love languages, as published in Gary Chapman (1992). The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate. Northfield Publishing. ISBN 978-1881273158. Chapman, Gary D.; Campbell, Ross (1997). The 5 Love Languages of Children: The Secret to Loving Children Effectively. Chicago: Northfield Publishing. ISBN 9780802403476. OCLC 1020412967. Egbert, Nichole; Polk, Denise (23 Aug 2006). "Speaking the Language of Relational Maintenance: A Validity Test of Chapman's Five Love Languages". Communication Research Reports. 23 (1): 19–26.

As the publishers of this free online Love Languages Test, which allows you to screen yourself for the characteristics and manifestations of your love language, we have striven to make the test as reliable and valid as possible by subjecting it to statistical controls and validation. However, free online quizzes such as the present Love Languages Test do not provide professional assessments or recommendations of any kind; the test is provided entirely “as-is.” For more information about any of our online tests and quizzes, please consult our Terms of Service.

Love Languages Test

Why Use This Test?

1. Free. This Love Languages Test is delivered to you free of charge and will allow you to obtain your scores related to words of affirmation, quality time, giving gifts, acts of service, physical touch, help with money, and intellect and understanding.

2. Statistical controls. Statistical analysis of the test is conducted to ensure maximum accuracy and validity of the test scores.

3. Made by professionals. The present test has been made with the input of people who work professionally with psychology and individual differences research.